Buildings & Sustainability Committee

In 2024 the Buildings & Sustainability Committee was created, superseding the Space & Sustainability Committee which was set up in 2021 to develop an approach to sustainability and oversee the development of a Masterplan. The Buildings & Sustainability Committee is a standing committee to Governing Body with the purpose of overseeing the implementation of the College's Masterplan and advising Governing Body on matters related to sustainability. The committee meets regularly and staff (including dedicated sustainability staff), student representatives and external contractors also attend the meetings. 

Sustainability Working Group

In 2024, we also set up an informal sustainability working group which meets termly and is made up of members of staff, students and academics. The purpose of the working group is to increase awareness and engagement with sustainability across the College, discuss existing and upcoming operational  projects and brainstorm new initiatives. New proposals/initiatives which require formal approval are then fed into the Buildings & Sustainability Committee as appropriate.

Sustainability Team:

Rachael Dean is Sustainability Manager and serves as the College’s focal point for sustainability and sustainability projects. Her priorities include Scopes 2 and 3, Biodiversity and embedding sustainable practices into ways of working.

Daisy Jowers is Sustainability Officer and focuses on the College’s decarbonisation projects (Scope 1) and is the main point of contact internally for our Salix Funding.