Emeritus Fellow, Professor Alex Kacelnik, FRS, awarded the ASAB Medal 2019

21st January 2019

We are delighted to announce that Pembroke Emeritus Fellow, Professor Alex Kacelnik, FRS, has recently been awarded the ASAB Medal 2019. The medal is awarded annually for contributions to the science of animal behaviour - through teaching, writing, broadcasting, research, or for work on behalf of the association.

Professor Kacelnik, an Emeritus Professor of Behavioural Ecology at the Department of Zoology, commented: “I am incredibly happy and grateful for this award. The ASAB (Association for Animal Behaviour) medal is named after Niko Tinbergen, who got the Nobel Prize in 1973 for his contributions to founding the science of animal behaviour. I came to Oxford the following year, in 1974, at least in part due to my admiration for his research, and was lucky enough to interact with him in his years as emeritus.  Tinbergen’s research signature was his integration of proximate and ultimate causation, an ideal that I have pursued through my own career, and am still pursuing now as emeritus professor at Pembroke and the Department of Zoology. This recognition touches me very deeply.”