JCR Elects New Committee for 2020-21 Academic Year

17th June 2020

The JCR have chosen their committee representatives for the upcoming academic year, following a series of virtual elections.

Following a discussion during the Easter Vacation regarding how the elections should be run, the hustings were adapted slightly to try and minimise the effects of participants being in different time zones and using varying levels of internet speed. Hustings for each position therefore took place via zoom calls with the outgoing rep, incoming candidates and the returning officer, Emma Lewis. The calls featured the answering of pre-written questions sent in from JCR members, with recordings of each call later being posted online for JCR members to watch back. Voting then took place via the usual online forms.

The manifestos of candidates have particularly focused on helping the JCR to cope with the ongoing pandemic during the near future, through means such as emphasising welfare across the JCR and helping to make the welcome for incoming freshers as normal and friendly as possible.

Reflecting on the success of this year’s unique set of elections, Emma commented: “I think it was important that we made hustings work in some form rather than scrapping them this term and instead voting purely based on candidates' manifestos. From a personal point of view, it has also been nice for me to see lots of familiar faces when hosting the zoom calls, which brought me some sense of Pembroke community via my laptop.”

The results were announced on Tuesday the 16th of June, with incoming committee members listed below:

President - Ariff Castronovo

VP - Tom Hamp

Secretary - Daisy Meade

Treasurers - Tom Glenister and Toby Vickers

Welfare Reps - Maddie Judge, Tegan Murphy, Jacques Maurice, Hakan Ozoran

Domestic Rep - Valerie So

Environment Rep - Philip Hutchinson

International Rep - Vanessa McLoughlin

Academic Rep - Peter Savery

Sports Rep -  Mayowa Ayanbadejo

Access Rep - Archie Hayton

Music & Drama Reps - Hannah Blundell, Henry Calcutt

Entz Reps - Gideon Blankstone, Emma Lowe

REM Rep - Aria Shirazi

Publications Rep - Hattie Carter

Gender Equalities - Georgia Brown

LGBT Rep - Alfie Hoar

RAG Rep - Teddy Grassi

SU Rep, Art Rep and Disabilities Rep are all unfilled.

Current JCR President Peter Corti, Returning Officer Emma Lewis, and Incoming President Ariff Castronovo
Current JCR President Peter Corti, Returning Officer Emma Lewis, and Incoming President Ariff Castronovo