Scholars' Lecture and Dinner, 2023


In recognition of the achievements of our undergraduate students, the College hosts a Scholars’ Lecture and Dinner every year, whereby Scholars and Exhibitioners are formally admitted to their titles. This year, on Wednesday 22nd November, 97 Scholars and 25 Exhibitioners joined the Master and fellows for the evening of celebrations.

Professor Ana Namburete was the speaker for this year’s lecture, titled AI for Affordable Prenatal Care: Tools for Resource-Constrained Settings. The talk focused on her recently published research on brain maturation during pregnancy, in which she and a team of around 200 researchers developed machine learning methods to construct the first digital map showing how the fetal brain matures as pregnancy advances. Professor Namburete's role in the research involved using AI to enhance the visibility of brain structures in the images, allowing the team to generate an average depiction of the brain each week of pregnancy from as early as 14 weeks.

Professor Namburete has been Rokos Fellow and Tutor in Computer Science at Pembroke since 2021, when she reintroduced the subject as an undergraduate option in College. She is an expert in the application of machine learning to image data for the purposes of clinical diagnoses.

Following the lecture, the Master gave the formal Latin oath to induct the new Scholars and Exhibitioners, who were then invited to a drinks reception and formal dinner in Hall.

We would like to extend our warmest congratulations to all of our Scholars and Exhibitioners on their outstanding achievements!

Scholars in Pichette Auditorium


Group of scholars smiling

The full list of this year’s Scholars and Exhibitioners is as follows:


Anthony Adamson Mark Tomov Matej Kratky
Deepak Alagusubramanian Josef Vacha Lam Lam
Noorayni Ali Mills Yang Zhengxiao Liu
Xuerong Bai Christine Zhao Xianming Liu
Sam Bankole Joshua Piper Oscar Lu
Marianna Birkitt Ruth Arnold Elisa Marku
Edward Brocklehurst Elena Baldry Imogen Marriott
Kenny Cho Tom Brierly Lily Massey
Gethin Clement Zheyuan Chen Grace McGrory
Aleksa Djordjevic James Chen Jessica McLean
Hari Gajendran Mairead Cole Lakshand Mohanthas
Sloane Getz Leo Dakin Iona Neill
Rohit Ghosh Audrey Dickinson Zoe Offen-Brewer
Raman Gnanalingham Tymoteusz Domeradzki Sibby O'Grady
Hanin Hassan Rhiannon Durant Kaleigh Parks
Joel Horsman Christian Forrest William Powell
Elwyn Jones Barbara Francik Morgan Richards
Yukina Kasai Rebecca Gardner Nadia Roeske
Cian  Lomax William Gibson Emma Simmons
Cecilia Lombardi Amelie Gilardi Matt Siu
Hana Mackinlay James Gui Edward Smith
Anna Mayer Francesca Harkness Callum Smith
Olivia McConnell Orson Hart Hannah Southall
David Ng Lucia Henwood Ben Spenceley
Nic  Nicolaou Ayaka Hogg Vlad Sucaliuc
Henry Nurse Tilda Huntingford Kacper Swierk
Nick Pattinson Freya Hutchins Francesco Tasin
Jack Pitman-Wallace Katie James Frank Wang
Louie Plant Oscar Kanan Marigold Whitaker
Nara-May Rishani Harrison Kaye Henry Worsley
Ayla Samson Jason Ke Mia Yeadon
Lingwa Shi Helen Kidd  
Lily Sonnenblick Joshua Kirkhope-Arkley  



Theo Delves-Broughton Derun Li Riona Nothard
Matilda Dyson Benoit Mes Philipp Wiedemann
Emily Hall Reece Molloy Bence Tanko-Bartalis
Chloe Hall Selvageethan Nedunchezian Cameron Hill
Basile Husseini Lara Radojcic Grace Stapelberg 
Ella-Rose Keith Holly Roberts Sofia Panourgias
Gaurav Kocher Tomas Sergeant Cleopatra Coleman
Oscar Lawson Hasan Shazad Joana De Heredia De Sousa Mendes